Pakistan Cricket Board Announce Schedule; Qalandars Lock Horns With Islamabad In First Match

PSL 2024PSL 2024

The 9th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is all set to start from 17th February 2024 and the schedule has been announced by the apex body of cricket in Pakistan, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Lahore Qalandars will be crossing swords with Islamabad United in the first game of this competition. It will be taking place at the Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore and promises to ooze action and entertainment.

A total of 34 matches will be taking place in this competition and the finals will be taking place at the Nation Stadium in Karachi on 18th March 2024. Coincidentally, the opening encounter of the PSL is clashing with the finals of the ILT20 2024.

PSL will be taking place in 2 legs. The first leg matches will be taking place from 17th February to 27th February at Lahore and Multan. Post that, the remainder of the tournament will be taking place in Rawalpindi and Karachi.

The playoffs and the finals will be taking place in Karachi and promises to be an absolute crackerjack phase of the tournament.

Lahore Qalandars are the defending champions of this tournament. They had outclassed Multan Sultans by a narrow and slender margin of 1 runs in the finals on 18th March 2023.

The chairman of PCB’s managing committee, Zaka Ashraf, spoke about the decision to host the tournament across multiple cities of the Asian country.

“The decision to host the marquee event across these cities is a testament to our commitment to bring top-notch cricket to fans across the country. We believe that hosting matches in these venues not only adds to the excitement for fans but also promotes cricket at the grassroots level,” said Ashraf as quoted by ESPNCricinfo.

PCB also will be organising National Women’s T20 Tournament

Pakistan will be ushering in a new era of women’s cricket as PCB has decided to organise a women’s tournament in the form of the National Women’s T20 Tournament 2024. It is slated to commence from 15th January 2024 and will have 6 cities as teams.

31st January 2024 will be witnessing the finals of this competition and this will provide a perfect platform for the women cricketers of this country to showcase their talent and prowess.

PSL 2024 Squads

Islamabad United

Shadab Khan, Naseem Shah, Jordan Cox, Imad Wasim, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Tymal Mills, Matthew Forde, Salman Ali Agha, Qasim Akram, Shahab Khan, Hunain Shah, Ubaid Shah, Shamyl Hussain, Tom Curran

Karachi Kings

Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Mohammad Nawaz, James Vince, Hasan Ali, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Tabraiz Shamsi, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Akhlaq, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Tim Seifert, Mohammad Amir Khan, Anwar Ali, Arafat Minhas, Sirajuddin, Saad Baig, Jamie Overton

Lahore Qalandars

Shaheen Shah Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Rassie van der Dussen, Haris Rauf, David Wiese, Sikandar Raza, Abdullah Shafique, Zaman Khan, Mirza Tahir Baig, Rashid Khan, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammas Imran Jnr, Ahsan Bhatti, Dan Lawrence, Jahandad Khan, Syed Faridoun Mahmood, Shai Hope, Kamran Ghulam

Multan Sultans

Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, David Willey, Khushdil Shah, Usama Mir, Dawid Malan, Abbas Afridi, Reece Topley, Ihsanullah, Faisal Akram, Reeza Hendricks, Tayyab Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Ali, Usman Khan, Yasir Khan, Chris Jordan, Aftab Ibrahim

Peshawar Zalmi

Babar Azam, Rovman Powell, Noor Ahmad, Saim Ayub, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Asif Ali, Mohammad Haris, Aamir Jamal, Naveen ul Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Salman Irshad, Arif Yaqoob, Haseebullah Khan, Umair Afridi, Dan Mousley, Mohammad Zeeshan, Lungi Ngidi, Mehran Mumtaz

Quetta Gladiators

Rilee Rossouw, Sherfane Rutherford, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Will Smeed, Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali Jnr, Usman Qadir, Omair Bin Yousuf, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan

Also read: IPL Archives! 3 Memorable Innings Of Sourav Ganguly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button