Most Powerful Mumbai Indians (MI) Playing XI in IPL History

Mumbai Indians Best Playing XIMumbai Indians Best Playing XI

5-time Indian Premier League (IPL) winners, Mumbai Indians are a class team. Alongside Chennai Super Kings (CSK), MI are the most successful IPL franchise and have a huge fan base.

Several legendary players ply their trade for this franchise and some of the heavyweight names include Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya and Surya Kumar Yadav. Ever since IPL 2013, Mumbai have been spreading their magic wings and have been outclassing several other teams.

In the past as well, several greats of this game including Sachin Tendulkar, Kieron Pollard and Ricky Ponting have been a part of this side.

In this article, we take a look at the most powerful Mumbai Indians (MI) playing XI in IPL history:

Mumbai Indians Strongest Playing XI of All Time

Rohit Sharma (c), Sachin Tendulkar, Surya Kumar Yadav, Ambati Rayudu (w/k), Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Strongest Playing XI Stats for MI

1. Rohit Sharma

243 matches (2008-present)

Runs: 6211, Average: 29.58, Strike-Rate: 130.05

Undoubtedly, one of the best captains of IPL of all-time, Rohit Sharma walks into the Mumbai Indians all-time best XI, without a shred of doubt. He can give an explosive start at the top-order.

2. Sachin Tendulkar

78 matches (2008-2013)

Runs: 2334, Average: 34.84, Strike-Rate: 119.82

Legendary batter Sachin Tendulkar is out next player on this elusive list. He is considered as the greatest player to have donned this sport and his blazing blade has created several records. Sachin Tendulkar is still an integral part of the management of Mumbai Indians.

3. Surya Kumar Yadav

139 matches (2012-present)

Runs: 3249, Average: 32.17, Strike-Rate: 143.32

Fondly known as Mr. 360 for his all-round prowess, Surya Kumar Yadav can literally smear the opposition bowlers, all across the park. His aggressiveness and his buccaneering cricketing abilities makes him a special player.

4. Ambati Rayudu (w/k)

243 matches (2010-2023)

Runs: 4348, Average: 28.23, Strike-Rate: 127.54

Considered as a legend of IPL, Ambati Rayudu was an integral part of the middle-order of this champion franchise. He has played 114 IPL matches for Mumbai and has mustered 2416 runs.

5. Ishan Kishan

91 matches (2016-present)

Runs: 2324, Average: 29.42, Strike-Rate: 134.26

A young and flamboyant batter, Ishan Kishan has the ability to single-handedly change the course of the game for Mumbai Indians. He has been playing for Mumbai since a considerable period of time and Mumbai had broken the bank for acquiring his services in the Mega-Auction of IPL 2022.

6. Hardik Pandya

123 matches (2015-present)

Runs: 2309, Average: 30.38, Strike-Rate: 145.86, Wickets: 53

The present skipper of Mumbai Indians, Hardik Pandya is an embodiment of determination, class and grit. He was associated with Mumbai Indians since his formative years and was then released by them ahead of the IPL 2022 Mega-Auctions.

Mumbai traded him back from his previous franchise, Gujarat Titans, ahead of the IPL 2024 Auctions and have also made him the captain.

7. Kieron Pollard

189 matches (2010-2022)

Runs: 3412, Average: 28.7, Strike-Rate: 147.3, Wickets: 69

A legendary all-rounder of Mumbai Indians, Kieron Pollard was the backbone of the Mumbai team for 12 years. He has captained Mumbai as well sporadically and was a born leader.

He is now the batting coach of Mumbai Indians and would be looking to join hands with Hardik Pandya and leading the side to their 6th IPL title victory in IPL 2024.

8. Harbhajan Singh

163 matches (2008-2021)

Wickets: 150, Average: 26.87, Economy: 7.08

Legendary off-spinner, Harbhajan Singh, becomes an automatic selection in the Mumbai Indians side. He has been an integral part of IPL and has played since its inception, way back in 2008.

9. Trent Boult

88 matches (2015-present)

Wickets: 105, Average: 26.54, Economy: 8.29

Kiwi speedster Trent Boult is known for sending thunderbolts down the spines of the opposition batters. He has been playing in the IPL since 2015 and has bagged 105 wickets in 88 matches, thus far.

10. Lasith Malinga

122 matches (2009-2021)

Wickets: 170, Average: 19.80, Economy: 7.14

Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker of Mumbai Indians of all-time and was a legendary figure in the bowling department of the 5-time winners. He has taken 170 wickets in the IPL and is a legend of this league.

11. Jasprit Bumrah

120 matches (2013-present)

Wickets: 145, Average: 23.3, Economy: 7.39

Jasprit Bumrah is easily, one of the best all-format bowlers in contemporary cricket. He has the ability to send shivers down the spines of the opposition batters and is one of the main reasons why Mumbai Indians has been such a successful franchise in the IPL.

Also read: 3 Reasons Why Hardik Pandya Can Be A Good Captain Of Mumbai Indians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button